Prime Minister resolves salary anomalies ending teacher-principal trade union actions

This afternoon (12th October) at the Temple Trees addressing the representatives of the teachers’ and principals’ trade unions, the Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa agreed to increase the salaries in three installments in two budget stages as a resolution to eliminate their salary anomalies, successfully ending 93-day trade union actions. Accordingly, first installment of the increment shall be allowed in the 2022 budget and remaining two installments shall be incorporated in the 2023 budget starting from January that year.
The Prime Minister emphasized that as continuing the education of children without any hindrance is at the top of priorities of the nation, government is very sensitive of the educators concerns and, therefore, no salary anomalies are to be disregarded. However, as the treasury receipts were limited due to the Covid-19 epidemic, all installments could not be allowed at once.
Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa stated that the decisions taken by the Cabinet Sub-Committee appointed on 09 August 2021 - led by Hon. Dullas Alahapperuma - will also be implemented.
Accordingly, the provisions pertaining to the publication of the services of teachers, teacher-instructors and principals as a closed service will be implemented in November and other recommendations will be also be executed within six months.
The Chief Incumbent of the Abhayarama Temple Ven. Murutthettuwe Ananda Thero also attended the meeting.
Ven. Yalewela Pannasekara Thero - President of the All Ceylon United Teachers’ Union and Ven. Meegahajandure Seelananda Thero representing pirivena teachers, Ven. Ulapane Sumangala Thero- Chairman of the Association of Education Professionals, Mr. Wasantha Handapangoda- President of the Sri Lanka Public Education Services Association, Mr. Joseph Stalin- President of the Ceylon Teachers’ Union, Mr. Mahinda Jayasinghe- Secretary of the Ceylon Teachers’ Service Union, Mr. PM Samarakoon representing Teaching Instructors , Mr. Sisira Kumara Ratnayake & Mr. WA Weerakody representing Government Principals, Mr. Shehan Dissanayake- General Secretary of the Government Teachers Association and several other representatives were present representing educators of various trades.
Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena- Minister of Education, Hon. Gamini Lokuge- Minister of Power, Hon. Dullas Alahapperuma- Minister of Mass Media, Hon. Mahinda Amaraweera- Minister of Environment, Hon. Udaya Gammanpila- Minister of Energy, State Ministers Hon. Susil Premajayantha, Hon. Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Hon. Piyal Nishantha De Silva, Mr. Gamini Senarath- Secretary to the Prime Minister, Prof. Kapila Perera- Secretary to the Ministry of Education, Mr. Chaminda Kularatne- Additional Secretary to the Prime Minister, Mr. R.M.P Rathnayake- Deputy Secretary to the Treasury and Mr. Jude Nilukshan – Director General of the Department of National Budget were also present at the gathering.